Becoming the victim of a sexual crime is one of the most traumatic things you can experience. If you or a loved one is struggling after surviving a sexual assault or child sexual abuse, you may be wondering about your legal options:
Our Alaska sexual abuse lawyers understand your concerns. We want to help your family find justice. Schedule your free, confidential consultation today by filling out the contact form or giving us a call.
After surviving a sexual assault or finding out that your child has been sexually abused in Alaska, it's natural to wonder about your legal options. First, you want to make sure the person responsible is arrested, convicted, and put behind bars before they can hurt others like they've hurt your family.
You might be wondering how your state's criminal justice system deals with sexual offenses and what type of punishment the perpetrator may face. This page provides a listing of the criminal sexual statutes in Alaska, but you should be aware that these laws are frequently updated throughout the country. You can learn more about possible criminal punishments in a consultation with an Alaska sexual abuse victims' lawyer.
If you are a survivor of sexual assault or abuse, there are services available in Alaska to help. Need help immediately? Reach out to one of the Alaska Network on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault's 23 regional sexual violence response programs. Click here to find contact information for rape crisis services in your area.
While most people think of the criminal courts first, it's also important to consider your options in civil court. From Nome and Fairbanks to Anchorage and Juneau, a civil sexual abuse lawsuit offers a few possible benefits for the families affected by these heinous crimes:
A criminal trial is an important part of justice for any victim, but Alaska's criminal courts focus solely on the punishment of offenders. In order to demand accountability from others who were complicit and get the support your family needs, it may be necessary to file a civil sexual abuse lawsuit.
Alaska is home to an outrageous level of sexual assault and child sexual abuse. Alaska's sexual assault rate, according to NPR, is 3-times as high as the national average, while the rate of childhood sexual abuse is 6-times higher.
If you or a loved one has been victimized in a sexual crime in Alaska, you may be wondering how the state’s laws could punish your assaulter or abuser. We’ve summarized the main points of Alaska’s sexual predator laws below.
Crimes involving child sexual abuse are broken into three separate categories in Alaska:
A person can be charged with online enticement of a minor if they knowingly use a computer to entice, solicit, or encourage sexual activity from someone under 16 years old, or someone who that person believes is a child under 16 years old. This crime can either be charged as a Class C felony punishable by a maximum of 5 years in prison, or a Class C felony if the perpetrator was required to register as a sex offender at the time of the offense – punishable by up to 10 years in prison.
In Alaska, sexual abuse of a minor is classified into four degrees:
First-degree sexual abuse of a minor applies in cases involving:
This crime is an unclassified felony and punishable by up to 30 years in prison.
Someone may be charged with sexual abuse of a minor in the second degree if:
Sexual abuse of a minor in the second degree is a Class B felony, punishable by a maximum of 10 years in prison.
A person may be charged with third-degree sexual abuse of a minor if the offender is 17 years or older and engages in sexual contact with someone who is 13, 14, or 15 years old and at least four years younger than the offender. This crime is a Class C felony, punishable by a maximum of 5 years in prison.
Fourth-degree sexual abuse of a minor can happen in one of two ways:
Sexual abuse of a minor in the fourth degree is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison.
Unlawful exploitation of a minor charges may be filed against anyone who induces or employs a child under 18 to engage in sexual acts depicted in live performances, film, audio, video, any other materials. Parents who allow their children to engage in these acts may also be charged with unlawful exploitation of a minor. These charges can be classified as either a Class B felony (maximum 10 years in prison) or a Class A felony (up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $250,000) if the offender has previously been convicted of the same crime or a similar crime in the same jurisdiction.
Generally speaking, most violent sexual crimes are categorized under sexual assault, according to Alaska law.
In Alaska, anyone who engages in sexual penetration with someone else who is related to them, either legitimately or illegitimately, can be charged with incest. This includes:
Incest is a Class C felony in Alaska and punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
Alaska law classifies sexual assault cases in four different degrees:
Someone can be charged with first-degree sexual assault if they:
First-degree sexual assault is an unclassified felony punishable by up to 99 years in prison.
According to Alaska law, there are four types of second-degree sexual assault:
Second-degree sexual assault is a Class B felony and punishable by up to 99 years in prison.
If you or a loved one is a survivor of sexual assault or childhood sexual abuse, you may be wondering about your legal rights. While the criminal justice system fills the important role of punishing offenders and keeping them from harming future victims, survivors of these crimes often need their own legal representation to ensure they have everything they need for a full recovery. Moving on from a traumatic experience like sexual assault takes time and hard work. But with the right combination of therapy, counseling, support groups, and other healing methods, you can get past what happened to you.
At Laffey, Bucci, & Kent, we’re proud to stand up for the rights of victims of sexual crimes. We can help you get the full support you need to recover from your traumatic experience. To find out more about your legal options, contact our Alaska sexual assault lawyers today for a free consultation.