If your family is looking for legal guidance after you or a loved one became the victim of sexual abuse, you may be struggling with several questions:
We understand how the pain, anger, and frustration your family is going through and we're proud to help the victims of these heinous crimes seek justice. Call our local office today.
If you or a loved one was violated during a crime of sexual violence, you may be wondering what type of punishment the abuser or assaulter may face. We've summarized Wyoming's sexual assault and sexual abuse laws below as a reference point.
Wyoming has a simple criminal system, which generally prosecutes sexual offenses under one of two laws, depending on the age of the victim. These two laws have varying degrees of severity which hand out different penalties depending on the specific circumstances of the offense.
It can be comforting to know that your offender will be behind bars for a long time, but remember to explore your legal options in the civil court system too. From Casper and Cheyenne to Rock Springs and Jackson, our experienced Wyoming sexual abuse victims' lawyers can help you learn more about your legal options in a free consultation.
Wyoming is one of 48 states with a law requiring the mandatory reporting of suspected child abuse and neglect. While many other states only have this rule for certain professionals who regularly work with children, in Wyoming everyone is considered a mandated reporter. This means that regardless of professional, all citizens of Wyoming have a legal obligation to report suspected abuse of children and vulnerable adults. Those who fail to meet this obligation may be held liable if the victim's family files a lawsuit.
Wyoming has a simple set of laws used to prosecute sexual predators who victimize children. Depending on the circumstances of the crime, these offenders can be charged with one of four degrees of sexual abuse of a minor:
A person is guilty of first-degree sexual abuse of a minor if they engage in an act of "sexual intrusion" (e.g. using an object or body part to penetrate another person's body) under any of the following circumstances:
This felony is punishable by a maximum of 50 years in prison.
A person is guilty of sexual abuse in the second degree if they engage in any of the following acts:
This felony is punishable by up to 20 years in prison.
Offenses which do not constitute sexual abuse of a minor in the first or second degree, including:
This felony is punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
A person is guilty of sexual abuse of a minor in the fourth degree if he or she:
A felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
In Wyoming, all sexual offenses committed against adults are covered under the umbrella of sexual assault. A person can be charged with sexual assault in one of three degrees, depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime:
A person is guilty of sexual assault in the first degree if he or she inflicts sexual intrusion on a victim and any of the following circumstances apply:
This felony is punishable by 5-50 years in prison. Repeat offenders will receive a minimum sentence of 25 years, while those with a prior offense of sexual abuse of a minor will be sentenced to life in prison. If the offender has at least two previous convictions for sexual assault or sexual abuse of a minor, the sentence will be life without parole.
A person may be convicted of second-degree sexual assault if he or she commits sexual contact or sexual intrusion under any of the following circumstances:
This felony is punishable by 2-20 years in prison. Repeat offenders face the same penalties as those listed under first-degree sexual assault.
A person will be charged with sexual assault in the third degree if they subject a victim to sexual contact, without sexual intrusion, and without serious bodily injury.
This felony is punishable by up to 15 years in prison. The same circumstances listed under first-degree sexual assault apply to repeat offenders.